As The Page Turns: October Edition

Books, books, books! Yay for book posts! Get ready fellow booknerds, I read some awesome books this monthΒ  πŸ™‚

What I read in October:

Young Elizabeth: The Making of a Queen by Kate Williams

img_20161014_160804

Oh my goodness, this book was fantastic! I loved learning about Elizabeth and the abdication of the throne by her uncle, which ultimately led to her father becoming King of England and subsequently when he died, Elizabeth inheriting the throne. Fascinating account of Elizabeth and her sister Margaret’s young lives and going all the way through to Elizabeth becoming Queen. I can’t recommend this book enough!Β  πŸ™‚

Debt-Free Living: How a Spending Fast Helped Me Get From Broke to Badass in Record Time by Anna Newell-Jones

img_20161003_155249

Guys, this book was so good and chockfull of so many interesting tidbits! Anna created and runs the popular blog andthenwesaved.com for the non-personal finance crowd and her book was such an easy read. No confusing info, no berating because you too have bought one too many things under the influence of emotional shopping. Anna has been there and describes her journey of getting out of debt which gave her the freedom to follow her dream of becoming a freelance photographer. Definitely give this one a read!

Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst

img_20161020_160845

This book, um wow, all the feelings! I loved it. β™₯Β  I don’t want to get too deep with this, but this book was awesome. Definitely a good read!

The Moor by Laurie R. King

img_20161026_170645

This book revolves around the Sherlock Holmes story The Hound of the Baskervilles with a 1920’s twist and Sherlock Holmes himself is brought back to Dartmoor to solve this latest incarnation of mystery.

Halloween Party by Agatha Christie

img_20161009_095053

Y’all know I had to throw in an Agatha Christie novel and what better one to read for October than Halloween Party? Bobbing for apples takes on a whole new meaning when one of the party guests is found dead in the tub of apples. Who did it and why? That is the question…bet you’ll never guess who did it!Β  πŸ˜‰

What did you guys read in October? I need some new books to dive into!

18 thoughts on “As The Page Turns: October Edition

  1. Uninvited sounds really interesting and I’m adding it to my TBR. Now as my fellow Sherlock Holmes aficionado, please don’t fall off your chair while reading this, but until this month, I had never actually read an “official” Sherlock Holmes story. Major fail on my part! I’m pretty sure Laurie King is already on my TBR, but to be safe, adding the Moor. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Now that I live in a commonwealth country, learning about Queen Elizabeth early life sounds super interesting. Thanks for that recommendation because I’m not sure it’s one that I would have sought out on my own.

    Like

  3. I’ve just finished watching the first season of “The Crown” on Netfix. If you haven’t already seen it, it’s about Queen Elizabeth’s early years. I was hooked! I’m very interested in the book Young Elizabeth that you’ve reviewed here. Fun fact: My eldest lives in Victoria B.C. and one morning during the Royal visit this summer, she stepped outside of her house in her pajamas. A motorcade went by, and a window of one of the cars rolled down, and Prince William waved to her : ) Probably not how she ever thought she’d be dressed for a Royal greeting : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

